Student Writing Awards 2024: An Interview With JeniSue Teegarden

JeniSue won 2nd place in the Undergraduate Non-Fiction category for, “Cows Have Teats”, and an honorable mention in the Undergraduate Poetry category for, “Infected”. Congrats JeniSue!

Interviewed by Belle Becker
Student Writing Awards Winner JeniSue Teegarden

What does winning these awards mean to you?

This has meant a lot to me, and I feel has influenced the direction of my continued education. I have yet to declare a major and this has significantly increased my desire to write and has me leaning towards an English major.

How would you describe your writing? What themes, ideas, and styles do you find recurring throughout your work?

My writing has a tendency to be spastic, yet I hope relatable. I am writing from my experiences and enjoy self-deprecating humor.

What are some of your favorite authors? Do you see these authors as influencing your writing?

Growing up I was heavily influenced by Jane Austen, Madeleine L’Engle, and Judy Blume. Now I find myself gravitating towards Sci-fi and Horror. Isaac Asimov and Stephen King are always on the top of that list.

What is your writing process like? Can you talk about one of your pieces a little; how did this particular piece come about? What was your inspiration?

My pieces were influenced by Professor David Dodd Lee’s Creative Writing Class. It was my first introduction to thinking outside the box when writing. I struggled with the concept, but through perseverance and guidance from Professor Lee, I overcame my insecurities and sparked the embers of a newfound passion. Writing has brought me great enjoyment and has also been very therapeutic.