Featured Senior 2024: An Interview with Morgan McKenna

Morgan McKenna is a senior majoring in Graphic Design and graduating this spring. In her time at the Pub Hub she has been involved with writing for The Deadline, helped design covers for book projects, and been an integral part of many other projects. Congratulations, Morgan!

By Robin Dubree


Please tell us a little bit about yourself and what sorts of things you’ve been involved in at IUSB.
I’ve participated in Choir, English Club, and an Art Sale while here at IUSB. Outside of college I’ve picked up fishing and have taken a gap year between my sophomore and junior years to work.

What are your plans after graduation?
My plans after graduation are to dive into work. I hope to be able to save up for getting my own car, moving into my own place, and maybe put some towards a fund for hiking the Appalachian Trail. 

Do you have any professors that have stuck with you? Any favorite classes?
With the multitude of history courses I’ve had to take, Professor Andrea Rusnock’s many two and a half hour classes will stick with me. Her lessons were always enjoyable and taking notes in class was the key to passing the quizzes. As for a favorite class, I’d have to say that was Professor William Tourtillotte’s Special Topics in Studio Art which was like an introduction to print making. Being what could be considered a lab course I found it very fun planning out prints and getting my hands dirty with the inks.

What advice do you have for current students?
Some advice I have for current students is to pace yourself. Set deadlines and goals a bit earlier than they need to be to give yourself some wiggle room, especially if you tend to procrastinate like I do.

What’s a fond memory you have of your time at IUSB?
A fond memory I have here is in one of my first classes. An intro to the fundamentals of drawing course where our last project was to do a self-portrait. Traditional paper [and] pencil art has never been my forte and using charcoal instead of graphite had a bit of a learning curve to it. But with all the hours [I] put into that course, I’d do it all over again for the final result I got.

Leave a comment