Recommendation Station: INDIANA NOBLE SAD MAN OF THE YEAR by Steve Henn

Afterbirth is gross; it’s also
everything that happens to you in life.
The afterlife? Everybody’s got a theory,
some say souls are recycled, newly incorporated
in perpetuity, some say it’s nothing,
like the taste of water or calling clear a color.

– from “Theories” in Indiana Noble Sad Man of the Year by Steve Henn

By Natasha O’Hara

I would consider myself a voracious reader, in all genres and in any form. When I have the time, I enjoy curling up with a book and getting lost for hours. Nowadays, the majority of my reading is for school and it’s been a minute since I’ve found myself enthralled with a text to the point of being incapable of taking a break from it. Then I opened Steve Henn’s 2017 poetry book, Indiana Noble Sad Man of the Year. Thankfully, my muscle memory of one-handed multitasking ensued, because I could not put the book down. Gripped from the first stanza, I laughed, audibly gasped, ugly cried (ok, I also cry while watching Disney cartoons, but still), and reflected… a lot.

From the book’s very first poem, “The Dawning,” Henn foreshadows that the text is a shamelessly introspective take on the monotony found in everyday life. Within the first stanza, Henn writes that something deep within himself that’s typically “jagged, cynical, or aloof” has ultimately thawed, signifying his softening. He continues, describing a “humanizing and unprecedented” interaction with a homeless man at his local coffee shop, leaving him longing for a restoration in humanity.

Henn’s work touches on some of life’s toughest facets, such as mental illness, loss and grief, single parenting and growing old. He doesn’t shy away from provocative thoughts that most people would be too proud or embarrassed to speak or write about. This authentic approach breaks down the barriers of what is known and allows readers to find poetic qualities in monotony, whether those be heart-breaking or hilarious. Despite Henn’s witty cynicism and unapologetic rawness, “Sad Man” unmasks the soft core of a dreamer endeavoring to make sense of life.

Pages 56 and 57

I purchased this book for Professor Chaney’s ENG-W 206 Intro to Creative Writing, and the sleek, artsy cover immediately grabbed my attention (I don’t judge books by their cover per se, but I definitely notice aesthetically pleasing ones first). The artwork on the cover, as well as the rest of the art in the text are some works from the four people Henn dedicated his book to, his children. His children’s artwork serves as the book’s illustrations, felicitously complimenting the surrealistic collection. 

Steve Henn is an IUSB Alumni and teaches English in Northern Indiana. Indiana Sad Man of the Year is his third book of poetry, and has published two more since releasing this collection. Check out Henn’s Website if you want to get a taste for his work or keep up with his live readings.

Henn will be visiting campus on Tuesday, October 25th for the 4 Alumni Poets event. This will be held in DW 1001 at 5:30pm and also features Stephanie Erdman, Kristin LaFollette, and Rebecca Pelky.